What do we care about?

For many years I’ve been promoting the idea that Earthcare means caring about all of life on the planet, not just the “natural world,” but also the humans who live in this natural world. We have to recognize that climate change affects everything and that it affects the most vulnerable first.

When we consider who, among the people on the planet are first affected by the byproducts of theĀ profligate life styles of many, including the pollution of water, land, and air, we recognize that often it’s the poor and often people of color.

What are we doing in our Transition communities to address the inequalities that exist in so many of our cultures? How are we addressing the issues of race in our communities? I’m searching to understand how we talk about these issues. Tomorrow I will take the train to Philadelphia to attend the weekend White Privilege Conference. (http://www.whiteprivilegeconference.com) I’m hoping to return to my Transition community and my faith community with ideas for addressing these issues. I want to learn how to have the honest conversation that seems to be missing in much of my life.

We will not have healthy communities in the transition without working on care for Earth, care for people, and make sure that we share equitably the bounties of our work. Come along with me on this journey. Let’s learn from each other. Let’s challenge one another. Let’s be tender with each other. And let’s be grateful that we have the chance to make a difference.

About ruahswennerfelt

I am searching for a global vision for a sustainable, resilient world in the face of peak oil, climate change, and economic instability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment