Justice as a foundation of our work and my book is published!

For John Alexander of the Climate Project, Transition would benefit from redefining itself as “a movement of communities coming together to reimagine and rebuild our world”. There has been talk about re-branding the Transition message away from what we react to, instead to what we do. It’s a good change. Our work is positive, not necessarily reactive, though it doesn’t mean we stick our head in the sand and forget the crisis we’re in.

I’ve returned from the White Privilege Conference a few weekends ago. I learned so much about ways to reach out to people who are different from ourselves. I learned so much about my own privilege in this country and how it has shaped my life. Awareness is definitely a first step. But it can’t stop there. What are we doing to engage ALL people in the transition? Do we avoid those who have different political affiliations, who come from different cultures, whose world view is different?

Last weekend Louis and I attended the “People’s Convention” here in Vermont. It brought together people working on labor issues, migrant issues, and climate issues. It was enlightening and inspiring. We need more of these connections made. I will continue to explore the intertwined issues of peace, justice and care for Earth in future blogs.

I am delighted to say that my book is now published. Although the following link goes to Amazon, I do encourage you to purchase it at your local bookstore. We need to support independent bookstores across the country! Here’s the link:

Rising to the Challenge: The Transition Movement and People of Faith (Text version) (QIF Focus Books Book 10)

I hope you’ll give it a chance.

About ruahswennerfelt

I am searching for a global vision for a sustainable, resilient world in the face of peak oil, climate change, and economic instability.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment